Dedication Versus Obsession

The weekend is over people it is Monday time to get to your Job, Hustle, Craft however you call it. I call it my calling. Let me tell you about my weekend woke up at 3am to finish some review and documents; hit the tarmac at 4:50; showered and headed to Sagana for a leadership summit. The day was a score but my Highlight came at 2:30pm when an enlightened individual decided he is Muhammad  ALI of Business or as Jay Z or 50 Cent is to rap he is to business. Long story short was to be given some well overridden advice, “I shall tell you something, In all my years in business, I have been told to avoid been busy. You shall have a lot of Money but you shall be lonely”[Oxford Dictionary – “without companions; solitary.”] Before we move further let me enlighten my lovable readers I was answering a customer complaint and also looking at some motivational quotes to keep my mind churning in order to have another view about it. I love corrections they enable master myself and hustle more but not coated in insults.

The distinction between obsession and dedication highlights the theoretical struggle between behavioral psychology and existential psychology. The first sees the human organism as a willed agent whose behavior is determined by the contingencies of reinforcement in the controlling environment whereas the second sees the human organism as a willing agent whose behavior is not just determined by the contingencies of reinforcement in the controlling environment but also by the internal decision of how to be in the world. In the first case when the contingencies of reinforcement change the behavior changes right along with it whereas in the second case when the contingencies of reinforcement change the behavior doesn’t necessarily change.

STEVE BLOOM on his column of  The Power of 100% Dedication
When is the last time you gave everything you had to make something happen?  By that I mean putting a ton of time into a goal with extreme focus and determination.  It means becoming so passionate that you start to obsess. If I had to pick one personality trait that helps me succeed, it would be the ability to become 100% dedicated to make a goal happen.  It’s amazing how much immersing yourself completely into a goal can help you reach it.
Becoming 100% Dedicated
I tend to have an obsessive personality.  When I find something I want to learn or do, I get carried away and think about it constantly.  I become so curious that  HYPERLINK “http://dosomethingcool.net/learning-everything/” I seek out as much information as I can.  This helps me understand subjects in extremely deep ways.
I’ll give you a couple of examples: I’ve been a regular gym-goer for years.  Initially that meant lifting weights once or twice a week.  I kept in decent shape, but it was casual – nothing too serious.  However, I wasn’t getting as much out of my workouts as I would have liked.  One day I decided to do something about it. So I gathered as much information as I could find about workout routines in the gym, nutrition, supplements, cardio and stretching. Based upon what I learned, I built an exercise routine that would get me into the best shape possible.  My time at the gym went up to three times a week.  When I wasn’t working out, I either read about bodybuilding or ways to better my diet. I was completely dedicated to getting into great shape.
All the knowledge I accumulated and applied had an effect.  When I put it all together in the gym, I saw results.  My muscles grew…and quickly. Of course, becoming extremely dedicated doesn’t just apply to working out. When I was in college, I studied French for two years.  I didn’t get much further than the basics because I wasn’t putting all my effort into learning it. Several years after I took my last formal French class, I brushed off an old textbook and started relearning it.
I put hours into learning French every day.  I made flashcards to memorize words, watched movies in the language and spoke it to myself.  I even took out French novels from the library and read them. I put everything I could into reading, understanding and speaking it. And the results came quickly.  I think I picked up more French in a few months by myself than I did in two years of formal education. The minute I knew I had reached a new level of understanding was when I started dreaming in French.
Putting Dedication Into Practice
These two stories highlight just  HYPERLINK “http://dosomethingcool.net/principles-greatness/” how effective it can be to become obsessed and give 100% to a goal.  You can get great results – fast.
Before I had become extremely dedicated to these two goals, I had made little progress.  I was in decent shape (more than the average person) and knew the basics of French. But I knew I could do so much more. I was frustrated at my progress.  I couldn’t understand why it was taking so long to build muscles.  The same goes for learning French.
I realized the problem is in how you approach your goals.  The reason I wasn’t making much progress was because I wasn’t putting much into them.  A casual approach will give you mediocre results. If you want to get bigger and better results, you have to put in a lot more time and effort.  That means increasing the intensity of your work.
I’ve learned that there are many benefits to being 100% dedicated instead of doing things casually.
Since you spend so much time on it, you find better ways to get where you want to go.
You gain a lot of momentum towards reaching your goal.
You’re not likely to let things slide which is when a lot of your progress goes away.
It’s easy to maintain your gains so you can lessen your intensity once you’ve reached your goal.
If you’re unsatisfied with progress you’re making on a goal, you might just need to put in more.  Put in time every day and get 100% dedicated; make it happen.  You’ll reach your goals in less time and enjoy better results.
I’ve given 100% towards a lot of other things in my life – understanding world news, travel and writing/blogging – for instance.  As with weight lifting and learning French, when you give 100% to it, you can  HYPERLINK “http://dosomethingcool.net/principles-greatness/” make great things happen.  It can be hard to get into this mindset, but when you do, you can see a lot of great results.
For Floyd Mayweather Jr.’s secret to his success? Nobody works harder = {Dedication}
LAS VEGAS – Floyd Mayweather was on his back on the mat in his gym, ready to move on to another exercise several hours after he began, and four days short of two months from his bout against Canelo Alvarez on Sept. 14 at the MGM Grand Garden.
Rafael Garcia, the wise sage of The Money Team, is 84 years old and perfectly willing to tell the boss when enough is enough. Garcia has spent more than 60 years of his life in boxing and understands the toll a hard training camp can take on a fighter’s body.
Mayweather frequently pushes himself beyond normal limits, as if he were an 18-year-old hoping to catch the eye of the local promoter and not the biggest star in boxing on the homestretch of his career.
“One of the things that amazes me all the time about Floyd is that he works and trains like he’s never made a dime in boxing,” said Leonard Ellerbe, the fighter’s close confidant and the CEO of Mayweather Promotions. “It’s incredible to see a man who has made a couple of hundred million dollars in this business pushing himself the way he does. He’s a perfectionist.
“An off day for him is when someone might catch him with a jab. And if they do, he’s angry, and he’s got to figure out why and fix it. He’s so hard on himself.”
Mayweather said when he compares himself against the greatest fighters who ever lived, he believes his advantage is conditioning. Someone mentioned Sugar Ray Robinson, Sugar Ray Leonard and Thomas Hearns, and Mayweather quickly interrupted.
There is, he said, a big difference between himself and those all-time greats.
“I’ve seen all those fighters get fatigued,” Mayweather said. “All those fighters got fatigued [at one point in their careers]. They’re all legends, and I take my hat off to them. They paved the way for me to be where I am.
“But one thing about me, of course I’m a 15-round fighter. I’ve shown I got a granite chin; I’ve never hit the canvas. I’ve been in there with the best of my era, and I made A- and B-level fighters look like D-level fighters.”
Garcia has worked for Mayweather for 13 years, and knows that someone needs to tell him that he’s done enough work for one day and that it’s time to call it quits. This is just the fourth day of Mayweather’s training camp, but he weighs just 147 pounds.
Garcia leans in and whispers something to Mayweather, who nods and quickly heads off to the locker room.
Floyd Mayweather Jr. trains at a different level than other fighters. (Getty Images)
Across the ring, former world champion Cornelius Boza-Edwards, who runs the gym, sidles up to a familiar face. He watched the last few minutes of Mayweather’s workout with an almost stunned look on his face.
“Did you see that?” Edwards said. “I’ve been around boxing for many, many years, and I’ve never seen anything like it. I’m totally serious when I say this, but he’s ready to fight tomorrow.
“He started on Monday, and it was like he’d been here for six weeks already. I honestly can say that in all my years in boxing, I haven’t seen a thing like it.”
A short while later, Mayweather is seated on a bench in his locker room, happily talking about the sport and his career, when Boza-Edwards brings him a pair of boxing gloves to autograph.
As he signs the gloves, a thought occurs to him and, without knowing it, he may have revealed the secret for his success.
“It makes me feel good when a guy like him tells me, ‘Floyd, you are a very, very hard worker,’ ” Mayweather said, nodding in Boza-Edwards’ direction. “Of course, anybody on my team, everybody who is in this room, I want to impress them. Every day I want to impress them. I want to get better. That’s the truth: I want to impress everybody around me.
“It’s self-preservation: I want to impress myself, first. But I really want to impress everybody around me.”
The truly great ones have an ego, and Mayweather certainly has one. But taking care of his ego doesn’t require him telling everybody how great he is, though he does plenty of that when he’s in fighting mode. Rather, his ego drives him to try to find perfection, to ensure he’s never embarrassed in the ring.
Al Mitchell, his coach on the 1996 Olympic team, sat in the gym watching Mayweather push himself through a blistering workout without so much as breathing hard.
At the end of those Olympics, Mitchell had little doubt that Mayweather would become a world champion not long after his entry into the pro ranks.
But Mitchell conceded that Mayweather has greatly exceeded his expectations.
“What he’s doing now, dominating this era, it’s kind of like Sugar Ray Robinson, and what he did in his era,” Mitchell said. “The big guys, they all have their time. Sugar Ray had his time. Muhammad Ali, Ray Leonard, they had theirs. Roy Jones, of course, but Roy wasn’t skilled like Floyd. He was just so fast, and we knew that when the speed went, well, you know. But Floyd, he was a very coachable guy and he always wanted to be good. What people don’t realize about him is how competitive he is.
“He’s always worked so hard on the smallest things. He learned very early in his boxing life that the small things mean a lot. And now, you’ll see him do moves in there that are, to tell you the truth, extremely hard, but he makes ’em look easy. That’s because he’s drilled them so many times to get them perfect. He’s successful because he’s never satisfied, and he wants everything to be perfect.”
Things couldn’t be much better for Mayweather. He’s fighting the fight that his critics said he wouldn’t take. He’s building an incredible undercard.
He has blips he has to deal with, and he quickly says, “I’m not perfect. I know that.”
He’s been forced to deal with a minor bit of controversy recently. Mayweather is the man who introduced Olympic style drug testing to boxing in 2010, and yet several Mayweather Promotions fighters have failed their drug tests.
It’s not a subject that pleases him, and he had particularly harsh words for J’Leon Love, who tested positive for a diuretic after his May 4 win over Gabriel Rosado.
Love pleaded with the Nevada Athletic Commission for leniency, pointing out that his brother was murdered during his camp and that forced him several times to break training. The end result is that he struggled to make weight.
Mayweather understood, but said he told Love in a face-to-face meeting it still wasn’t right.
“He was going through a lot, and I come from the same background he’s come from,” Mayweather said. “J’Leon Love comes from a rough background. He didn’t have shoes. He had to beat up a guy to take his shoes so he’d have shoes. He comes from a very, very rough background.
“What I told J’Leon Love [after learning of his positive test] is, ‘Wrong is wrong and you’re wrong. You’re wrong, and that’s not right. But I can’t be your friend on Tuesday and not be your friend on Wednesday. If I’m your friend, I’m your friend through your good days and your bad days.'”
Mayweather is rarely hit and never shows signs of fatigue. (AP Photo)
He’s the boss, and everyone in the place knew it, but he engenders tremendous loyalty among his team members.
Garcia said those who work for Mayweather realize they are, in a way, living history.
“All of my years in boxing, so many, many years, and I have never seen anyone like him,” Garcia said. “If they called him this minute and said, ‘Hey Floyd, the fight is tomorrow,’ he’d be ready. You just don’t see this in guys, even the best ones.
“Because he’s in the shape he is in, he can keep going and he spends more time actually trying to get better. He’s been fighting for a long time, and he still wants to get better.”
And that is why, in a nutshell, he’ll be handed a $40 million paycheck Sept. 14 to fight Canelo Alvarez. He once did it for free, for nothing other than trophies and medals.
Now, he’s the richest athlete in the world, with homes in Las Vegas, Los Angeles and Miami and enough cars to carry a couple of football teams. Yet, it’s never enough.
“People say that he’s got a gift, and yes, he has great talent,” Ellerbe said. “But nobody has ever worked harder to try to make the most of that talent. Nobody.”
Dedicated to Mastery of a Craft Hall of Famers
1. Oprah Winfrey
I think Oprah Winfrey has one of the most amazing modern rags-to-riches stories of all time. As you’re probably well aware, Her incredible success is all the more impressive considering her rough upbringing. The daughter of an unmarried teen who worked as a housemaid, Oprah grew up in extreme poverty. Her family was so poor that, as a child, Oprah was teased at school for wearing dresses made of potato sacks. She also was the victim of sexual abuse at the hands of family members, which she discussed with TV viewers during a special episode of her show.
Oprah’s first big break was her gig at the local black radio station. Stations managers were impressed with her oration and passion, leading Oprah to work her way up the ranks to bigger radio stations, eventually resulting in her appearing on TV as well.
It was actually Robert Ebert who convinced Oprah to sign the deal that launched The Oprah Winfrey Show. And the rest, folks, is history.
2. Walt Disney
Walt Disney started off as a farm boy drawing cartoon pictures of his neighbor’s horses for fun. When he was older, Walt tried to get a job as a newspaper cartoonist, but was unable to find one and ended up working in an art studio where he created ads for newspapers and magazines. Eventually he grew to work on commercials, became interested in animation, and eventually opened his own animation company.
Disney’s first original character creation was Oswald the Lucky Rabbit, but it was officially owned by Universal Pictures because he was working under contract at the time. When Walt walked out on Universal Pictures after getting a pay cut, he needed to create a replacement, which is how Mickey Mouse came into being.
Disney was wildly successful with his animation company, but he wasn’t satisfied. He was determined to make the biggest and greatest theme park ever seen, saying to a colleague, “I want it to look like nothing else in the world.”
One of the biggest entertainment moguls of all-time, with an unrelenting spirit and commitment to his vision, Disney is undoubtedly an entrepreneurial all-star.
3. J.K. Rowling
Today J.K. Rowling is a household name for fans of the beloved Harry Potter book series, but she wasn’t always gifted with magic. The fact is, J.K Rowling was at her rope’s end before her misfit gang of witches and wizards saved her. Before her bestseller cast a spell on readers, J.K. Rowling was living on welfare and struggling to get by as a single mother.
Today she is estimated to have a net worth of $1 billion. Rumor has it she’s also the president of Gringotts Wizarding Bank, although it’s a bit of a secret among the goblins.
Did you know that some people believe that J.K Rowling sold her soul to the devil in exchange for the Harry Potter inspiration? When you’re so successful people think you’re making deals with the devil, you’re a pretty big deal.
Note she wrote her books on…… get this, “Tissue Paper”
4. John Paul DeJoria
Today he’s known for his Paul Mitchell hair products and for Patron Tequila, but John Paul DeJoria started off at the bottom. A first-generation American, DeJoria was born to German and Italian parents. He was sent to live in a L.A. foster home, and he even spent time in a street gang.
When he first created John Paul Mitchell Systems, he was selling his hair products door to door while living out of his car. It all paid off, though–today John Paul Mitchell Systems earns over $900 million a year.
John Paul DeJoria proves that things have to get worse before they get better.
5. Madam CJ Walker
Sarah Breedlove (aka Madam CJ Walker) was one amazing lady. She is regarded as the first black female self-made American millionaire.
Born in 1867, her parents and older siblings had been slaves on a Louisiana plantation. She was the first of her family to be born into freedom (that’s some lucky timing!).
Madam CJ Walker started her own line of beauty and hair products specifically designed for black women. She saw a market that wasn’t being met, and created a solution to a problem no one else seemed interested in solving.
As you can imagine, during her time she had to fight tooth and nail for every step up the ladder. A smart, strategic, and enterprising woman, she perfectly embodies the entrepreneurial spirit (with stylish hair to match).
6. Steve Jobs
You can’t really make a self-respecting “famous entrepreneurs” list without throwing in Steve Jobs. Jobs dropped out of college because his family couldn’t handle the financial burden of his education. He unofficially continued to audit classes, living off free meals from the local Hare Krishna temple and returning Coke bottles for change just to get by. Jobs credited the calligraphy class he stopped in on as his inspiration for the Mac’s revolutionary typefaces and font design.
Jobs went on to have an unbelievable career, eventually forming the Apple Computer Company with his childhood friend and electronics expert Steve Wozniak. Often referred to as “The Grandfather of the Digital Revolution,” Jobs forever changed the consumer electronics industry. At the time of his death, his net worth was over $8.3 billion, and his influence will be felt for many digital generations to come.
7. Andrew Carnegie
Carnegie had a really rough life growing up. He spent his childhood working in factories, and at night he forced himself to sleep as a way to forget his constant hunger.
Carnegie eventually worked his way up to becoming a superintendent for the Pennsylvania Railroad Company before creating several of his own businesses, the most successful being the Carnegie Steel Mill. Despite being one of the richest Americans of all-time, he also serves as a class act example of generosity.
8. Benjamin Franklin
Only an entrepreneur would conduct some of the wacky experiments old Benny was always up to. Franklin is credited with creating the lightening rod, bifocals, and the Franklin stove (yeah, that last one might have been a bit of a flop).
Like many famous entrepreneurs before and after him, Franklin was a man of a thousand hats. Scientist, printer, politician, inventor, author, diplomat, and savvy businessman were just a few of his many trades.
9. John D. Rockefeller
Even though we give these Gilded Age guys a lot of tough love for being so filthy rich, you can’t say they didn’t do good with their fortunes.
One of the world’s wealthiest individuals of all time, Rockefeller was born the son of a traveling salesman. He showed early entrepreneurial promise selling candy and doing odd jobs for neighbors, eventually going on to become the founder of the Standard Oil Company. There’s no business quite like oil business, and it made Rockefeller filthy rich.
While Rockefeller is accused of using shady business tactics to wipe competitors off the map, over his lifetime he donated $500 million to philanthropic causes (which he was inspired to do by Carnegie).
10. Hans Christian Anderson
Hans Christian Anderson’s fierce determination and self-starter mentality make him another great example of a famous entrepreneur.
Anderson grew up poor, but set off alone to Copenhagen at 14 when a fortuneteller told him that although he would suffer early on, eventually he would become famous.
Those predictions came true, as Anderson first tried and failed to become actor and singer. Seeing something special in Anderson, the director of the Royal Danish Theater took him under his wing and attended to his education. Anderson was teased terribly at school and harassed by students and a hateful headmaster, and he considered those some of the darkest days of his life.
After leaving school, Anderson began to publish his writing. His fairy tales became immensely popular and eventually earned him the fame he was promised as a child. He never forgot his initial poverty–The Little Match Girl was inspired by how his mother was forced to go begging in the streets as a young girl.
Today Hans Christian Anderson is still beloved, known for rich fairy tales, many of which have inspired Disney animation classics (which, it should be noted, have much happier endings than the original tales).
11. Bill Gates
Bill Gates is one of the most famous entrepreneurs of our era. The richest man in the world, Gates has a net worth estimated to be over $79 billion. He’s held the title of “world’s wealthiest individual” for 16 of the past 21 years.
Co-founder of the world’s largest PC software company, Microsoft, Gates was one of the defining figures of the personal computer revolution.
Gates showed an interest in computer programming at a very young age, spending all of his free time creating programs on the teletype terminal computer his school had donated. Gates went on to create Microsoft and develop the Windows operating system, which continues to be tremendously popular.
Bill Gates is, like many other famous entrepreneurs, also known for his philanthropic activities, donating very large amounts of money to charitable organizations and scientific endeavors. Gates established the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation in 2000, a private philanthropic foundation dedicated to reducing poverty, enhancing health care, improving education opportunities, and providing access to technology worldwide. Gates himself has donated over $28 billion to the foundation, which he continues to work for.
Have these famous entrepreneurs inspired you? Maybe you’ll be next on the list.
Want to Succeed put Blood, Sweat and Tears into what you do and it shall come to fruition. Yest at the top there is no mob. At the top there is no room for everybody, that’s why it’s hard that’s why it is laborious. As my Spiritual mother and concurrently my Church Evangelist says; service to man is service to God; whatever you do is a matter of putting not 30% not 80% but 100%. Fall down 10times get up 11th time and fight on, for the battle of life is not for the week but for the determined and dedicated.

I have let you know now. As I have told you guys time and again it isn’t about the dollars and Pounds it is about winning. Been the best 

Compiled by Charles Wahome
A product Management Consultant
{bbchambers254@gmail.com}

Leave a Reply

