Morning routines to copy from successful people

Asking millionaire and multi-millionaires what they do between the time they wake up and the time they start work could make for an interesting study. They have a routine that preps them for a successful life. In 7-8am traffic you rarely see Big Machines on the road. On the other hand at 4-6/7 the machines on the road are shocking only the kind you see as you pass Show rooms and Dealership yards.

Lifestyle went out to hear from a number of prominent Kenyans regarding their morning routines. Their schedules are as variant as they are interesting.

But there was a bottom line: Waking up early is a key attribute among those that have made a name for themselves.

Besides the ones we interviewed, the reason behind the success of a number of prominent Kenyans is they have strict routines.

Deputy President William Ruto, Interior Cabinet Secretary Joseph Nkaissery, Kenya Commercial Bank CEO Joshua Oigara, business magnate Chris Kirubi, former deputy inspector-general of police Grace Kaindi, the late Makueni Senator Mutula Kilonzo, former minister Njenga Karume and legendary photographer Mohammed “Mo” Amin are some of the people whose morning routines have been documented — with interesting lessons from each.

For Instance, Mr Kilonzo, who died in 2013, is said to have been so strict with his time time that when his son, the current Makueni senator, saw him a minute after their daily appointed meeting time of 7 am, the young Kilonzo would be turned away.

Life coach Jeff Nthiwa, who advises people on how to realise their potential, says that any successful person should wake up early and have a consistent morning ritual.

“It doesn’t matter whether you are employed, you’re running your own business, you are a Class Eight student — it’s for anyone who wants to make a mark on the planet,” he says.

He adds: “Most people who’ve really made it in life are those who are very intentional about the morning hour. Because that time between 4am and 6am is very critical. It actually determines the flow of how your day is going to be.”

Mr Nthiwa, the founder of Nairobi-based Destiny Life Coaching, says people who start their day late may be forced to rush through things, which will be detrimental to their productivity.

“If you have the habit of waking up in a rush, then the day goes in a rush. Throughout the day, everything is rushing to the next hour,” he observes.

Mr Nthiwa notes that a person needs a morning ritual — be it prayer, exercise or meditation — that “keeps your body, mind and spirit in sync and in a state of flow”.

EARLY RISERS

However, there are people who prefer calling themselves “night owls”, the kind that work late into the night and wake up late.

“You cannot work up to 2am and expect to wake up and be in the office and be productive at 8am. So, mostly, you need to understand yourself,” he says.

To explain the importance of waking up early, personal development adviser Wale Akinyemi gave his own example. He sleeps for five hours.

“I wake up at 2.30am. That’s when I go to my study at home. I do work, I pray, I do all those things then I leave home at about 4.15am and reach the office at 4.30am. By the time those people are coming at 9am, I’ve already had a full day. I get two days for the price of one,” he says with a laugh.

On the debate of “early birds” versus “night owls”, Dr Akinyemi, the CEO of PowerTalks Limited, says people are wired differently.

“The Bible says Jesus used to get up well before dawn. So, Jesus was an early riser,” he says.

Lifestyle learnt that traffic jams play a big part in dictating the morning schedule of many city residents and, according to Mr Adams Tuva, who deals with IT products and who is always keen to beat the morning jam, many high achievers reach their offices very early.

“These so-called big vehicles … you will not see many of them on the road after 7am. They are owned by people who run organisations. They try to run against the movements of other people,” he says.

To ensure he avoids traffic, Mr Tuva wakes up at 4am on workdays and is at the desk of his office in Nairobi’s Westlands by 5 am.

“My wake-up philosophy is that God will give you exactly what you give Him in terms of time. God is very fair to everyone … Waking up early keeps you ahead of the pack at all times,” he explains.

DANIEL MOI

Kenya’s second President

 

Mr Moi is legendary for maintaining a morning schedule so strict it inspired many people around him.

As President for 24 years, not once did he report to office later than 6.30am, recalls his long-time press officer Lee Njiru. And, on some days, the President and his staff would be taking breakfast at 3am.

“He used to have appointments even at 6am,” says Mr Njiru, who has worked with Mr Moi for 38 years.

More than a decade after retirement, Mr Moi’s mornings are still busy.

“Under normal circumstances, he does not wake up later than 6am,” Mr Njiru told Lifestyle. 

What keeps Mr Moi up in the morning, Mr Njiru says, are the schools and farms that he helps run.

The schools include Moi Educational Centre in Nairobi, Sunshine Secondary School in Nairobi, Moi Kabarak High School, Sacho High School in Baringo, Kabarak University and Moi Primary School.

“He has to get briefings from the headteachers of all these schools on what is going on in terms of physical expansion, school equipment, teachers, professionalism, missions, visions, and goals. This is not a job which Mzee can delegate,” Mr Njiru says, adding that his boss does not like “mediocrity”.

Mr Moi operates from either his Nairobi or Nakuru offices. When he is in Nairobi, the office is open at 6.30am.

“Although he left the presidency, that does not mean that he has slackened his pace in nation building; because nation building is not only running the public affairs within the government,” notes Mr Njiru.

*****

EVANS KIDERO

Nairobi Governor

 

The county boss says it has been his tradition to wake up early every morning since leaving college in 1983. On most days, he says, he leaves home by 6am.

“Morning hours present a good, quiet time to work. Between 6am and 9am, there are few or no people in the office,” he says. “Waking up early is a way of maximising what you can do in a day.”

In those morning hours, what takes up his time is “planning, putting ideas together and examining different documents”.

“The key to success is planning. The result you achieve is as good as the plan you lay; and waking up early helps one create a plan. You have the best input in the morning,” says Dr Kidero.

***** 

EZEKIEL KEMBOI

Athlete

 

For the decorated 3,000 metres steeplechase athlete, mornings are about watching news and training.

He is up at 5am each day and then watches international television channels.

“I switch on my TV, go through CNN, BBC, Sky Sports; then get ready for my morning run at 6am sharp,” he says.

On the TV, he is interested in “world headline news and also sports. Just to get ready for the day”.

After acquainting himself with the news, the next item is the morning run, which he does between 6am and 8.30am every day except Sundays.

Starting the day early, he says, “wakes up my mind” and makes him relax.

“That’s why I’ve been doing it for the last 15 years,” says one of the greatest steeplechase athletes in history.

***** 

 

TABITHA KARANJA

Founder, Keroche Breweries

 

Ms Karanja’s day usually starts at 5am and there are three constant features of her morning: exercise, prayer and a little housekeeping.

“I have to do 10-minutes on the treadmill; and then after the treadmill I prepare myself for work. Being a woman, I tidy my room — unlike a man who will just get up and leave,” she says with a chuckle.

But why the treadmill?

“It gives you the energy and makes you ready to start the day,” she says.

And a prayer also comes in handy because she says a divine hand is always welcome in solving worldly problems.

Some days are too demanding for her that she has to forget about having breakfast at home.

“When you have a breakfast meeting, you have to wake up earlier than 5am so that you are in the office by 7am. So, you are to leave your house by 6am so that you get to the office by 7am because of the traffic,” she says.

On a bad morning, the Keroche Breweries CEO says she takes one-and-a-half hours from her house to the company’s Riverside office.

“Actually, it is the same time I use to go to Naivasha (where the company manufactures its products), which is about 100 kilometres away.”

For her, early meetings are the surest way to clear backlog at her workplace.

“I start my meetings early and then fix my day early. Because I am the boss, I can say I’ll only do 20 per cent of my job, but at the end of the month I’ll not have finished what I wanted to achieve,” she says.

*****

 

RABBIT (KENNEDY OMBIMA)

Rapper

If you are one of those people who like their morning meals heavy, with ugali to boot, you have company in the fast-rising rapper.

“Kaka Sungura” considers himself a person with a poor diet, saying he eats heavy in the morning and eats fruits the rest of the day.

He works three days each week — Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday — and on those days he wakes up at 4.30am.

His first activity is watching a movie.

“I’m usually watching some series at any given time. I usually wake up, pray then head straight to the TV. I watch TV for about 30 minutes — that’s until about 5am. Then I shower, make preparations up to 5.30am. By that time, my food has been prepared. I eat in the morning — ugali with some  liver and osuga (traditional vegetables), beef or chicken,” he says.

His working days are packed with meetings, which start from 7.30am.

“On Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Fridays, I’m usually in meetings throughout the day. My meetings end at 10pm,” notes the rapper who also runs an artiste management stable.

******

JUDY THONGORI

Lawyer

 

There are hectic mornings when Ms Thongori has to wake up at 3am. The day she spoke to Lifestyle was one of those.

But on ordinary days, the lawyer is up by 5.40am. A sizeable portion of her mornings goes to planning the day with her workers.

“Apart from ensuring that there is breakfast on the table for my family, I ensure that the people who help me at home know what they are going to do for the day. I also ensure that the provisions that are supposed to be in the house are there, or what I need to get in the course of the day. For that, I will have a list as I leave the house, then I leave to drop my daughter at the school bus stop,” she says.

“But when I have work, like when I have to do court preparations because I’m in court at 9am, then I would push my clock backwards. Sometimes it can be more than two hours before, like today. The point is that the only time of the 24 hours that you have that is truly yours, in my view, is the night.”

The Nairobi traffic jams  have a huge bearing on Ms Thongori’s morning programme. “I get to the office about 7.10am. I work for an hour until about 8.10am and because I’m in Westlands, then I have to start driving across to the courts and that takes me about an hour; you know how it is,” she says..

******

 

SIMON GICHARU

Founder, Mount Kenya University

 

Mr Gicharu has nurtured the culture of waking up at around 4am since his days as a student at Murang’a High School and he has never looked back.

“We used to wake up very early in the morning. When you are fresh, your mind concentrates even more when you wake up very early,” he says.

Nowadays, he wakes up at 4.30am, then heads to the gym for a one-hour workout.

“I take a shower then I’m ready to start the day from around 6am,” says Mr Gicharu who is also the chair of the Rural Electrification Authority. He is in the office by 7am and says morning hours provide the best time for work.

“That is the time you strategise. You are able to go through various correspondences, then act. By the time people go to the offices, you have already responded to whatever needs a response,” he says.

******

 

Craig Ballantyne

Craig Ballantyne is the author of The Perfect Day Formula. He has been a fitness expert for Men’s Health magazine since 2000, and is co-owner of Early to Rise. Though Craig spends a third of his days elsewhere, he calls Toronto, Canada home.

Recommended: The Obstacle Is the Way

What is your morning routine?

I get up around 3:45am so that I can start writing at 4:00am. Writing articles and books is my number one priority (after petting my dog, Bally, good morning), and on a good day I finish 1,500 words in sixty minutes.

The early morning hours are my most creative and productive, and I refer to them as my “magic time.” Everyone has a “magic time” during the day when they are 3-5 times more productive, efficient, creative, and energetic than they are at any other point in the day.

I encourage everyone to keep a time and energy journal for each day, tracking when you are most creative and productive. You’ll quickly identify your magic time, and then it’s up to you to ruthlessly protect it from others and leverage it so that you get ahead in life.

Once I’m done writing, I meditate, walk Bally the dog, exercise, and have breakfast (or have breakfast and then exercise, depending on the day). If I’m in Denver, I head to our EarlyToRise.com office for marketing meetings and employee coaching. If I’m at home (near Toronto, Canada), I get in two more hours of writing before the team gets to the office.

How long have you stuck with this routine so far?

I’ve been getting up this early since 2010.

In the early 2000s I was a personal trainer, starting at 6:00am each morning. When my online business grew to the point that I no longer needed to be a trainer, I started sleeping in until 7:30am. But I quickly realized that sleeping in left me feeling “behind” and anxious, so I started getting up earlier and earlier until I settled into my optimal schedule.

How has your morning routine changed over recent years?

I struggled to make meditation a habit for years, but finally added it a couple of years ago. Another component that has evolved is my email habits. In 2007 email was the first thing I did in the morning. That was foolish and often sidetracked me from important matters.

I then resolved to open my inbox later and later each day, and built up the rituals and willpower to stay out of my inbox until I’ve been awake and working for several hours. I’ve also put in place systems that have resulted in far less email being sent and received (that’s one important tip to fight email addiction: the less you send, the less you receive!). Today I have my system dialed in to protect my magic time and make big progress on my priorities.

What time do you go to sleep?

8:00pm. And I’ve learned to fall asleep quickly wearing an eye mask and earplugs.

I’ve shifted my schedule to make it most conducive to my goals and well-being. Everyone who wants to can get to bed and get up a little bit earlier. After all, there was probably a time in college when you slept in late, and somehow you managed to survive the transition to getting up earlier once you got your first job in the “real world.” If you want to get up earlier, it just requires planning and preparation.

Staying up late seems cool, but if it’s not working for your goals, then you have to draw a line, hunker down, and make an important lifestyle change.

If you’re a writer or an artist and worry that you won’t be as creative, that’s unfounded. You can still be creative early in the day.

There are just as many great authors, artists, and even architects that worked early in the morning (Beethoven, Van Gogh, Hemingway, Maya Angelou, Frank Lloyd Wright, etc.) as there were famous night owls. Two authors who switched from a night owl schedule to writing in the morning are Toni Morrison and Neil Strauss.

If Stephen King can get up and write horror novels in the morning (he works from 9:00am to 1:00pm), then we can get up early and write every morning, too.

Do you do anything before going to bed to make your morning easier?

My morning begins at 4:30pm the afternoon before. That is when I do a “brain dump,” writing down all of the work-related thoughts running through my head. This allows me to leave those thoughts behind and separates work time from personal/family time. I encourage everyone to use this exercise. It allows you to be present with your family while not worrying about something from work. It allows you to be the father who is focused on playing catch with his son, not the father looking at his phone while he throws the ball in the general direction of his child.

After the brain dump, I script my next workday, filling in blocks of time with important tasks to finish. Then I unplug, eat dinner, spend time with family and friends, and read a book or magazine before bed. Other things you can do to make your morning easier include preparing your lunch the night before, laying out your work clothes, packing your work bag, and even sleeping in your (clean!) exercise clothes if you want to do that in the morning.

Do you use an alarm to wake you up in the morning, and if so do you ever hit the snooze button?

I set an alarm, but it’s not always needed, thanks to the habitual wake-up time I’ve had for years. My body often gets up five minutes before the alarm. I don’t hit the snooze button because I leave the alarm (my phone) fifteen feet away from my bed. That means I must get up and walk across the room to turn it off. By that time I’m awake and no longer tempted to hit snooze. But again, the consistency of going to bed and getting up at the same time (90 percent of the time) makes this easy.

How soon after waking up do you have breakfast, and what do you typically have?

I’m up for about three hours before breakfast. I’m not into the sixteen-hour daily fasting, but I make sure there is a twelve-hour break between dinner and my morning meal.

For breakfast, I have my unique “Bulletproof Cereal” (nicknamed after the Bulletproof Coffeephenomenon). Here’s the strange recipe that I follow due to my love for cereal but my need to avoid gluten.

Craig’s Bulletproof Cereal:

1 teaspoon coconut oil3 ounces walnuts1 banana1 tablespoon almond butter (crunchy, of course!)1 teaspoon honeyOptional: 1 tablespoon cacao nibs

It’s high fat and high calorie, but it keeps me full for hours (usually 5-6 hours, from 7:00am to lunchtime).

If I’m at a restaurant for a business meeting, I’ll have four scrambled eggs with spinach and then a bowl of pineapple.

Do you have a morning workout routine?

Yes, although the time varies. On my non-lifting days (three days per week), I’ll meditate and then take my dog for a long walk (or go for a solo outdoor walk if I’m traveling for work) and do fifteen minutes of stretching. Then I have breakfast. On the one day per week when I do intervals, I’ll do those immediately after walking the dog (using kettlebells or bodyweight exercises in my garage).

On my lifting days (three days per week), I meditate, walk the dog, eat breakfast, work for two more hours, and then lift either in my garage gym or at a local gym.

Do you have a morning meditation routine, and if so what kind of meditation do you practise?

I started meditating on January 28th, 2013, and haven’t missed a day since. My average session lasts twenty minutes, and if possible, I time it with the sunrise and meditate on a few pillows in front of an east-facing window. On days where I have an early flight, I’ll meditate for at least five minutes during takeoff. It’s a perfect opportunity to lean back, relax, and breathe deeply. And if I’m lucky, I’ll fall asleep in that position for a quick snooze.

Do you answer email first thing in the morning, or leave it until later in the day?

I don’t check email until I’ve been awake for several hours and have completed major progress on my number one priority. Fortunately, I don’t get a lot of email by design. I send very few emails, and I’ve taught my team to limit the emails they send. It’s much better to have a face-to-face discussion or phone call.

Do you use any apps or products to enhance your sleep or morning routine?

No. I have never used an app in my life. My phone is a 2010 Blackberry Bold. That’s right, my phone is six years old (in human years) this year. I believe that makes it seventy-two years old in phone years.

I’ve never downloaded an app, and I’m not even sure if my phone can do that! My phone is only for texting and talking, and there are only a handful of very close friends, coaching clients, and family members who have my number.

How soon do you check your phone in the morning?

I check it immediately, but I don’t actually receive email on my phone, so there’s not much to check. But I do send out important morning messages. Each day, before 5:00am, I send out a “PEXT” to my coaching clients.

What’s a PEXT? It’s a nickname for “Pester Texting,” since the coaching message is designed to pester them into action, to motivate them, to help them overcome procrastination, and to focus on what really matters in life.

I send the PEXT while drinking my morning “immunity” drink (see below).

What are your most important tasks in the morning?

Writing. I produce several articles each day, including personal development content for EarlyToRise.com, fitness and nutrition content for TTFatLoss.com, and online business-building for InternetIndependence.com. I’m also writing two new books (one on personal development and habit transformation, and the other on exercise for fat loss). In a good day I’ll write about 5,000 words. Later in the morning I have several meetings with team members in our Denver office.

What and when is your first drink in the morning?

I have a cup of water first, and then within thirty minutes of waking I have my “immunity” drink of vitamin C, glutamine, and a greens powder. It helps me avoid illness while traveling… although I did just recently suffer from my first cold in three years, so it’s not perfect.

After that I consume almost exclusively water for the rest of the day, although I have peppermint tea at breakfast, and a green tea prior to a workout.

Do you also follow this routine on weekends, or do you change some steps?

I follow it seven days a week.

By now I know you’re thinking, “Wow, this guy is the opposite of the Dos Equis guy. He is the most boring man in the world. He’s like the Chuck Norris of lame.”

You’re right. But I’m proud of that! Of course, there are usually two nights per week when I get wild and crazy and stay out to 10:00 or 11:00pm: for date night, a basketball game, or a work dinner.

However, the secret to staying high energy is to get up at the same time as normal the next day. That means having a nap and going to bed early the next night. You might be tired the next afternoon, but you will be back to normal the day after.

It’s much better than what I did back in my twenties when I would stay out till 3:00am on weekends and sleep till 11:00am. That would leave me tired and dragging from Sunday through Wednesday. I’d just get back on track when it was time to ruin it all again.

I much prefer my virtuous, boring, and consistent life these days!

On days you’re not settled in your home, are you able to adapt your routine to fit in with a different environment?

I spend over one hundred days away from home (Toronto) every year, speaking at events, coaching at Mastermind groups, and working in our Denver office. But it’s easy to adapt a routine when traveling. All you have to do is plan ahead. There are no excuses.

I’ve stuck to this schedule on trips to dozens of countries, including while on holiday in Tuscany, Russia, Nicaragua, and even New York and Las Vegas. You wouldn’t believe some of the elevator rides I’ve had in Vegas when I was going to the gym at 5:00am and others were just going back to their rooms. Ha!

What do you do if you fail to follow your morning routine, and how does this influence the rest of your day?

I never fail. My morning is spiritual to me, and missing my morning routine would be like the Pope missing morning mass. It does not go neglected, period.

It all comes down to planning and preparation. That is how you control your days, own your life, and live perfect days without regret every day.

******

 

Chris Guillebeau

Chris Guillebeau is a New York Times bestselling author and modern-day explorer. His new book, Born for This, was released yesterday. When he’s not travelling the world, Chris lives in Portland, Oregon.

Recommended: The Obstacle Is the Way

What is your morning routine?

First things first: I’m on the go to at least twenty countries each year, in addition to traveling more than 100,000 miles domestically. At the moment, I’m kicking off a thirty-city book tour that has me waking up in a different place nearly every day for five weeks. Therefore, sometimes there’s not a routine, or at least the routine varies greatly by time zone.

I was recently in Jakarta, Indonesia, and ended up working a modified night shift for most of the week. I worked on my projects through the night, woke up for “morning coffee” at 2:00pm in the afternoon, and then everything was pushed back from there. It felt a little disorienting because I’d show up at the hotel restaurant for “lunch” around 10:00pm, right before they closed for the night. Then I’d have “dinner” during normal breakfast hours before falling asleep as the sun rose.

However, let’s talk about the normal routine when I’m home in Portland, Oregon, or at least on the road in the United States or Canada. I try to wake up early, usually around 5:30 or 6:00am. I drink two glasses of water right away. I make my first cup of coffee and spend twenty minutes catching up on the news and seeing if anything urgent came into my inbox or social feeds during the night. Then I make a shift—I shower, head to my office by Uber or Lyft while picking up breakfast along the way, and get down to more “real work.”

When I’m writing a book, I try to spend at least two hours every morning working on it. I often have interviews or calls, usually at least 1-2 a day and sometimes more, and typically 1-2 meetings as well. But, as much as possible, I try to reserve 8-11:00am for my own independent work. I drink sparkling water and listen to ambient music while I plow through my list of tasks and projects.

How long have you stuck with this routine so far?

I’ve settled into it over the past decade or so. Much of that time has also included a lot of active travel. I had a personal quest to visit every country in the worldfrom 2002-2013, which required a lot of flexibility, but when I’m home I try very hard to keep to the routine.

How has your morning routine changed over recent years?

The morning routine hasn’t changed much. I’ve actually added more to an evening routine, which I realize is not the focus of this great interview series. At the end of the day I ask myself, “Did today matter?” and journal a few quick notes related to that question. I drink herbal tea and sometimes take melatonin to help with falling asleep.

What time do you go to sleep?

I can be a night owl on occasion, particularly when I’m traveling, but at home I try to be in bed by 10:00pm.

Do you do anything before going to bed to make your morning easier?

In addition to the “Did today matter?” journaling prompt, I usually decide what I’m going to wear and pack my laptop bag for the next day. Making decisions about that stuff in the morning takes too much energy that should be reserved for creative work.

Oh, and I also try to identify one small thing that I’ll do when drinking the glasses of water and looking at the news early in the morning. It could be completing a batch of edits, finishing up a group of interview questions like these, or making the initial outline for a talk. I’ve learned that this little touch helps a lot on busy days—by the time I get to the office, I already have something off my plate.

Do you use an alarm to wake you up in the morning, and if so do you ever hit the snooze button?

Yes, I use my phone—and yes, I’m guilty of hitting the snooze button, usually at least once but sometimes more than once. To me, the “no snooze button” movement is kind of like the “no email in the morning” movement: overrated. Snoozers unite!

How soon after waking up do you have breakfast, and what do you typically have?

I usually eat within an hour, and I try to have a good breakfast every day. At home I pick up a breakfast sandwich from Lovejoy Bakers, a local place I visit almost every day. On the road I’m in hotels, so it’s eggs and coffee. Further afield it might be an Indian or Lebanese breakfast (think labneh, hummus, fava beans, etc.), which is also great.

Oh, I’m also a big believer in coffee. I’ll usually have at least one americano or macchiato, and more often two.

Do you have a morning workout routine?

I usually exercise later in the day; sometimes I might do it in the morning, but not often enough to call it a routine. I typically run 3-5 miles and do a few sets of pushups and situps. Once or twice a week I go to a vinyasa yoga class.

Do you answer email first thing in the morning, or leave it until later in the day?

First thing! Well, I don’t spend my whole morning doing email, but I also don’t leave it until later. Long ago I learned a great trick from Chris Brogan: spend a short period of time going through and answering urgent queries, firing off anything important, and deleting junk mail. Next, focus on your creative work for a while, and then return to the rest of the mail.

I love this approach because if I completely ignore email and leave everything for later, I end up getting way behind. Once I get behind, it’s a disaster because people are waiting on things, and it takes hours upon hours to catch up and get back to everyone. By doing a little at first, I’m much more prepared for the day.

How soon do you check your phone in the morning?

It’s just like the snooze button: guilty as charged. I check it right away.

Do you also follow this routine on weekends, or do you change some steps?

Saturday is a regular work day for me. In fact, I love working on Saturdays because a lot of other things slow down and I can catch up. If I send fifty emails on Tuesday morning, I might get back thirty replies before noon, which is great, of course, but also a big challenge as things stack up. On Saturday, though, if I send fifty emails (most of which are usually replies), a lot of them won’t boomerang back into my inbox until Monday morning.

I do mix it up on Sundays, where I try to take half the day off. It’s also the only day of the week when I don’t set an alarm. Most of the time I go for a long-ish run of 6-8 miles and then to brunch. I settle back into a project or two in the afternoon and then a bit of forward planning for the rest of the week.

What do you do if you fail to follow your morning routine, and how does this influence the rest of your day?

I think the best way to put it is that some failures are acceptable and others aren’t. If I’ve slept poorly or didn’t hydrate well, it’s a bad omen for the rest of the day. I’ll be distracted and unfocused. On the other hand, if I sleep a bit later than usual, it’s not always a problem. I try to schedule meetings and calls for later in the day in order to keep the morning reserved for the work and writing I do on my own.

It may sound like my life is disruptive because of all the travel, but I love routines. Readers here won’t be surprised when I say that routines help, not hinder, the creative process. I wouldn’t be able to produce regular work in multiple fields without being faithful to my routine more often than not.

Also, as you’ll note from the above, the best routine is your own. I check email in the morning and don’t exercise until later. If everyone else advocates the opposite, good for them. But you should always find what works for you, not for anyone else.

As a random example, I recently heard of someone who had a glass of red wine every morning. That would be a terrible idea for me and many other people, but this person seemed productive and happy. Who’s to say they should leave the cork in the bottle until 5:00pm? Certainly not me.

Our recommended product this week is The Obstacle Is the Way by Ryan Holiday. We only recommend products that we believe will be of interest to our readers. Check out The Obstacle Is the Way and help support us in bringing you a brand new morning routine every Wednesday!

Wanna live large try and arriving on time and be early. Always.

You got to watch that video. The best or nothing.

ELVIS ONDIEKI *** also ***http://mymorningroutine.com/chris-guillebeau/

This compilation was done by;
Charles Wahome a Product Management & Logistics Consultant

Reach out to him atbbchambers254@gmail.com

Vote Optiven and George Wachiuri on these two links – voting links PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR http://www.kediaawards.com/personality.html#InVvBb2V EMPLOYER OF THE YEAR http://www.kediaawards.com/employer.html#Acxg3z3i and COMPANY OF THE YEAR http://www.kediaawards.com/vote-here.html#LkGejjOE

Leave a Reply

